Meet Some Blog Hop Authors

This week I am participating in the Children’s Author Blog Hop.  I was invited by Holly Schindler – a wonderful writer of such YA titles as PLAYING HURT, and A BLUE SO DARK.   Her MG is due out early next year and is titled THE JUNCTION BETWEEN SUNSHINE AND LUCKY.  http://www.hollyschindler.com   I do a monthly post on her middle grade blog SMACK DAB IN THE MIDDLE, along with many other amazing and talented writers. www.smack-dab-in-the-middle.blogspot.com.

To participate, each author answers four questions and then invites three other children’s authors to participate. Blog hops are a great way for authors and readers to connect.

See more about the authors I invited below.

Here are my answers to the questions:

  1. What are you currently working on?        I am working on a contemporary Middle Grade titled THE ART OF IMPERFECTION.  It’s about a fourteen year old boy determined to re-invent himself and win over the most popular girl in eighth grade before he enters his freshman year.  He takes on a summer job painting his great-aunts house and meets a whole cast of characters – including a fourteen year old girl – who shake up those plans, his values and his definition of family.
  2. How does it differ from other works in the genre?       It allows the main character to interact with each person he meets  – from adults to teens and younger kids – and has him take away something of value from each of those encounters.   Even when he was convinced they had nothing to offer. And, there are NO vampires or werewolves. Although there is a character who believes she was once a cat.
  3. Why do you write what you do?        Middle Grade fiction seems to have chosen me.  I’ve tried writing picture books and novels for Young Adults but never seem to be able to get the “voice” right.  My characters, and the way they tell their story, turns me into a twelve year old, no matter how much I try to resist.
  4. What is the hardest part about writing?      For me the hardest part of writing is the middle.  I have no problem starting a story, and I usually know where and how  I want it to end.  I hit the wall about two thirds of the way through and am convinced I’ll never get over the wall to the finish line.

 Now here are three fellow writers with some amazing talents and credentials.

TARA LAZAR’S blog WRITING FOR KIDS (WHILE RAISING THEM) is filled with information for children’s book writers.  Her post “500 Things Kids Like” is a must if you’re trying to develop authentic characters that ring true.  She also hosts the annual  PiBoIdMo, an event that challenges picture book writers to come up with an idea, story or character everyday for a month, so that at the end, there may be some gems to turn into books.  Tara Lazar recently published her first PB titled THE MONSTORE with Simon and Schuster.  Another PB titled I THOUGHT THIS WAS A BEAR BOOK is due out in 2014.  Learn more about Tara at: http://taralazar.wordpress.com

 ROBIN NEWMAN writes a blog, “LET’S TALK BOOKS,” www.robinnewmanbooks.wordpress.com, covering kid lit, where she interviews authors and illustrators of books for all ages.  She recently sold THE CASE OF THE MISSING CARROT CAKE, the first book in the WILCOX AND GRISWOLD MYSTERY SERIES to CRESTON BOOKS (release date TBD), www.crestonbooks.com.  She writes picture books, chapter books and more!  She would love to have coffee with the Big Bad Wolf and the Three Little Pigs!  You can follow Robin on Twitter @robinnewmanbooks and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/RobinNewmanBooks/339179099505049

 

KATHY TEMEAN ran the New Jersey Chapter of the SCBWI for ten years as Regional Advisor. She is the author/ illustrator of Horseplay and many magazine articles and artwork. She also runs her own web design company   www.temeanconsulting.com   Her blog WRITING AND ILLUSTRATING offers valuable tips on everything you need to know about writing for children.  She also conducts interviews with agents, editors, authors and illustrators in the field and twice a year conducts writing workshops.  When she finds the time, she is busy working on her own MG and YA novels and illustrating children’s books. She just finished a project illustrating a book about Yogi Berra that will be out later this year. Check out her blog at: www.kathytemean.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Meet Some Blog Hop Authors

  1. Pingback: Nobrow to launch new Children’s imprint in 2013

  2. I’m a (ha, ha, ha) “author.” I do my best to write what I can. And writing in the voice of a twelve-year old isn’t bad (after all, I am one). I like writing, reading, and watching mysteries, fantasy, and anything that appeals to me. Thanks for posting on your work and others’. Please read my ideas (on my blog), maybe you could give me some good advice! Thanks again.:-)

Leave a Reply

