Children’s Literature – In 10 Objects…

Sommer Reading

il_340x270.536616413_rhhk

It’s a snow day! School is cancelled, and I’m having a cozy day catching up on my reading – magazine articles from my “to read” stack, e-mails, and even a real book. My husband is reading a book called The First World War in 100 Objects. And we were just talking about how many of these “history through objects” books there are: The Beatles in 100 Objects, A History of the World in 100 Objects, The Smithsonian’s History of America in 101 Objects, and lots of others for the list-oriented reader.

Naturally, I began thinking about important objects in children’s books. I don’t have time to list 100, but if I was limited to 10 significant and influential items in children’s books, I would choose:

Max’s Wolf Suit (Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak)

Max’s suit is his bridge between Home and the Wild Things. If…

View original post 517 more words

Leave a Reply

