Easy-Peasy Zucchini Pancakes + Recipe Give-Away

I don’t know about you, but this year’s mild summer and fall produced a bumper crop of veggies in our garden. Especially zucchini.  If you are still picking this versatile vegetable, or are just looking for a new way to get your children to eat more veggies, this recipe will do it.  It’s so simple and DELICIOUS. Even reluctant eaters should give it a try.

Zucchini Pancakes

1. Wash a medium size zucchini and pat it dry.  SHRED into a large bowl. You should have about 2 Cups.

2.  Add the following: 3 T. flour (or biscuit mix), 1/3 C grated Parmesan Cheese, a sprinkling of onion powder and a dash of salt.

3. Beat an egg and add to the mixture, stirring until all the mix is wet.   zucchini 1

4.  Put 1T oil in a skillet or on a griddle, spreading it around to coat the pan.

5. Pour spoonfuls of the zucchini mix onto the hot skillet and spread out into a thin layer.  Cook until browned and then flip.

6. Serve hot.  These pancakes make a great side dish and are reminiscent of potato pancakes.

Variations:  Try using grated beets or carrots for a sweeter tasting pancake.  Or mix half zucchini and half carrot.  You can also add 2 T of minced onion to the mix instead of the onion powder.

What do you think?  Is this recipe a winner?

Recipe Card Give-Away: If you’d like a set of the FOUR recipes found in my MG novel WHEELS OF CHANGE, leave a comment or your favorite zucchini recipe. The recipes are for PEACH PIE, GINGERBREAD, SUGAR COOKIES, AND BISCUITS.  I’ll put everyone’s name in a hat and choose TWO winners.  You have until 10-31 to post your comments.  zucchini pancakes

11 thoughts on “Easy-Peasy Zucchini Pancakes + Recipe Give-Away

  1. Sounds good. I have my own version with flour, salt and egg, but I never tried adding onion or cheese. I have also tried just adding shredded zucchini to regular pancake batter. They are really delicious served with applesauce.

  2. Hi Darlene, just an update… I made the GINGERBREAD recipe from your WHEELS OF CHANGE book, and it was delicious. I had never tried GINGERBREAD cake before, only cookies. I must admit that I made a small variation, but know it would be good either way. I added a half cup of softened raisins (soaked first in hot water) to the batter. After I took it out of the oven, I drizzled just a little orange juice mixed with powdered sugar over the top (just a little to compliment the GINGERBREAD without overpowering it, and to satisfy my sweet tooth). Thanks for your recipes. I look forward to trying the other recipes from your book in the future.

    • Kathy,

      I’m so glad you liked the gingerbread. I used the recipe to make mini cupcakes at the book launch and they were a big hit. Thanks so much for letting me know. I’ll have to try the OJ next time…sounds yummy!

  3. Darlene, I don’t know how this post got re-generated as a new post, but I’m glad it did! I love zucchini and I’m sure I can make this with gluten-free flour! 😀

Leave a Reply

