ALA ROCKS!

I went to Chicago this past weekend and attended my first American Library Association (ALA) Convention.  IMG_5266

I got to share the excitement with fellow Creston Books author ROBIN NEWMAN.  Not only did we share a room, we also shared our first book event with other authors from Creston as well as our Publisher/Editor/Mentor MARISSA MOSS.  Below is a photo gallery of some of the highlights from this amazing trip.

Up the escalator to the world of...BOOKS!

Up the escalator to the world of…BOOKS!                                                 

FINALLY meeting my wonderful editor Marissa Moss!

FINALLY meeting my wonderful editor Marissa Moss!

Friday Afternoon...Meeting and hanging out with the world's best school librarian: John Schumacher AKA Mr. Schu

Friday Afternoon…Meeting and hanging out with the world’s best school librarian: John Schumacher AKA Mr. Schu

With Fellow CRESTON BOOKS authors: Marissa Moss, Robin Newman, Lori Degman at ALA Convention Center Friday Evening

With Fellow CRESTON BOOKS authors: Marissa Moss, Robin Newman, Lori Degman at ALA Convention Center Friday Evening

Creston Books author Marcia Goldman and Lola...a favorite attendee.

Creston Books author Marcia Goldman and Lola…a favorite attendee.

IMG_5285

IMG_5278IMG_5280IMG_5281

 

 

Also spotted at the event....

Also spotted at the event….

Bookstore signing event on Saturday at Anderson's in Naperville, IL.

Bookstore signing event on Saturday at Anderson’s in Naperville, IL.

Also at the Book Stall in Winnetka, IL

Also at the Book Stall in Winnetka, IL

Got snowed in an extra day...

Got snowed in an extra day…

And after several rounds of cancelled flights...

And after several rounds of cancelled flights…    Made it home safe and sound.

It was an amazing event and I was happy to share it with so many wonderful, book-loving people!

 

 

Robin Newman and me waiting at Chicago O'Hare airport for yet another delayed flight...tired but happy from the weekend's events.

Robin Newman and me waiting at Chicago O’Hare airport for yet another delayed flight…tired but happy from the weekend’s events.

 

12 thoughts on “ALA ROCKS!

  1. Seeing and hearing about this event unfolding through these pictures was so joyful, I actually got choked up (and I haven’t gotten over to Robin’s blog yet!). You all look SO happy, as of course you SHOULD! lol What an event. I hope I get to attend someday, and you know, the FIRST thing I thought of was whether or not you got to meet John Schumacher! YES, YOU DID! That’s a bucket list thing for me 🙂

    • It was amazing and John is such a nice man. He has so much energy and enthusiasm for authors and good books for children; it’s impossible not to be equally excited in his presence. I hope one day we can attend an ALA together…

      • From your mouth to God’s ears, though travelling isn’t something I think much about : / I would love it to be the ALA though! How great if it was held in NYC! 😀

    • Dang! That would’ve been doable, I think, but I don’t have an agent or a contract, so the timing isn’t exactly great in that way. Wondering when my timing will be right! Oh, well : /

Leave a Reply

