Easy, Refreshing Summer Salad

As summer winds down, you may be wondering what to do with the abundant harvest of greens and tomatoes still left in the garden.  There are still enough warm days to enjoy a SUMMER SALAD as a main course for lunch or dinner.

summer saladFor this salad, have the kids wash and layer an assortment of fresh greens. I used romaine, arugula, spinach, purslane (look it up if you’re wondering), and radicchio.  Then I added sliced cucumbers, yellow beets, black olives, sliced grapes, and yellow tomatoes.  Then I sprinkled on a 2 oz. packet of salmon, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, slivered almonds, and grated Parmesan cheese.  Top with your favorite dressing and you’re all set.

You can easily substitute the following to make it your own: diced, cooked chicken, cooked salad shrimp, tuna, dried cranberries, walnuts or pecans, pineapple chunks, shredded carrots, apple slices, orange segments…the list goes on.  It’s delicious, filling and nutritious as well.   Why not pack a smaller version of this  for school lunches?  Serve with some whole grain crackers for added crunch.

What are your favorite salad add-ins?

6 thoughts on “Easy, Refreshing Summer Salad

      • Darlene, we use the Excalibur dehydrator, and there’s not much to it so it’d be a very short blog post. LOL! But, sure, I would be happy to.

        This reminds me (I have a terrible memory), didn’t you ask me to do a blog post about something previously. I hope I had replied to you about already.

    • Hi Darlene, sorry it took me a couple of days to see this (the reply wasn’t part of the other comment thread above and so didn’t show up in my Reader feed). I’ll send you an email. 🙂

Leave a Reply

