Kim Pfenningwerth Gives Something Away.

When Darlene asked me to write a guest blog, I hesitated.  

When she said it could be about anything. I thought, this could be fun but how will I ever choose a topic?

When she added pick a day—Everything clicked.

Without hesitation I chose to blog about July 15th.  Why that day you might ask.

…Is it for National I Love Horses Day? …Well, I do love horses.

…Is it for National Tapioca Pudding Day? …I’m sorry to say, I don’t love tapioca.

…Is it for National Pet Fire Safety Day? …I do have pets, so Pet Fire Safety is a Very Important Issue for my family. 

But if not those, then what is it about July 15th that gave me the idea for this post?

Today, July 15th is…drum roll please—National Give Something Away Day!

Giving something away could be useful. Clean off some shelf space. Clean out a closet. What could be more fun than to give something away?  The possibilities are endless.  Big or small. Playful or practical.  A bouquet of balloons or a simple posy.  But if you look deeper there is another layer to this day.

Giving something away is a kindness and kindness is a magical element.  It is an action with absolutely no expectation for something in return.

Without a doubt, kindness is a bad day breaking, moment changing gift. Kindness is a priceless commodity that is shared simply by giving it away.

Hold a door open for someone.

Give a smile to a stranger or a hug to a friend.

Buy a cup of coffee for the next person in line.

Give new or gently used clothes, books, or toys to a shelter.

Donate to your local food bank.

Have you put off visiting someone? Give away some time and pay someone a visit. If you live too far away call someone and give a warm hello and the time for a conversation.

National Give Something Away Day is a happiness boosting, smile inducing, pay it forward day.   So kindly mark July 15th on your calendar and remember to Give Something Away. I promise you and someone else will be delighted that you did.

Need a few ideas? Click on the links below:

Books for Soldiers: http://booksforsoldiers.com/donate_to_the_soldiers/

Donate Books – Find your public library: http://www.publiclibraries.com/

Dress For Success: https://www.dressforsuccess.org/

Food Bank: http://www.feedingamerica.org/find-your-localfoodbank/?referrer=https://www.google.com/

Vietnam Veterans of America: http://www.pickupplease.org/

Volunteer Match: https://www.volunteermatch.org/

(Darlene Here:To honor NATIONAL GIVE SOMETHING AWAY DAY, fellow kid lit author Kim Pfenningwerth and I are giving away TWO (2) $10.00 gift certificates to Barnes and Noble.  To be in the running, all you have to do is leave a comment about what you’ve recently given away and how you felt afterwards.  I’ll put your name in a hat and announce two winners on FRIDAY, 7-29-2016 ON THIS BLOG. What do I plan on giving away on July 15th?  I’ll be doing an author visit/teaching session at my local Boys & Girls Club.)

Thank you Darlene for the opportunity to write such a fun blog post. Wishing everyone a happy and kind National Give Something Away Day. And good luck with our giveaway!

Kim 4-30-16

 

Kim Pfennigwerth is a lover of books, animals, children, and kindness. She is often spotted in a bookstore reading piles of books while revising her own picture book manuscripts.

38 thoughts on “Kim Pfenningwerth Gives Something Away.

  1. I gave away a phone clip to a friend who said she liked mine. It always feels good to give someone something. And since I gave it to my friend I get to see her use it and enjoy it. Which also feels good.

  2. Great post, Kim! World events have made me realize how unimportant most “stuff” is and I have been closet purging. We had a silver coffee urn we received as a wedding gift, had moved around the world several times, but it sat in a closet. I hope someone who goes to Impact Thrift finds it and uses it happily. Will share your post as a gift to other readers. 🙂

  3. Kim,
    I LOVE this post! What a great reminder as I lie half-awake on this beautiful day. I recently gave away my son’s baby clothes. I was expecting to feel relief at not having a big tub in the basement, but as I sorted through the clothes, the memories of his first trip home from the hospital, his first little laugh, and his first steps came rushing back. I spent an hour or so thinking of all his firsts and realized that these sweet oh-so-tiny baby clothes will have a new life of firsts. Sure enough, my new nephew was born unexpectedly early two days ago (he is doing well!) and now I can see him giggle in a dinosaur onesie, and take his first steps in a bear romper, and a year from now, take a bite of his first crayon- what makes those balls of wax so incredibly appealing?!?!

    Today, I’ll be giving away my daughters’ clothes to another friend expecting a baby, and I expect the memories will come rushing back, but so will the anticipation of another life for those frilly and flowered outfits. So thank you for this timely reminder and beautiful post!

    Best Wishes,

    Britt

    • Aww, Brittany, I still have a small box of a few items I couldn’t bare to part with – I LOVE your perception of the clothes having more firsts! Many hugs to you and yours!

  4. What LOVELY and TIMELY post from two terrific women who I greatly admire. I let the man behind me in the supermarket line go in front of me because he seemed like he was in a rush. He seemed surprised and it made him smile. That made me feel good.

    • Ah, well, Laura, we have a mutual admiration society going on here! And I can totally picture you saying, ‘Please go ahead of me.’ It’s those small kindnesses that can change someone’s day in an instant.

  5. Not to one up everyone but I gave away both my kidneys. Or was it two books to one of my daughters friends? I can’t remember, it’s one of those.

    • I didn’t get to see you last weekend at ILA Paul, but I signed and gave away 20 copies of Wheels of Change to teachers who stopped by. They were soooo excited to get the book and curriculum guides. Making a teacher – or a child – happy is a great thing! Thanks for sharing and making me smile! I know how much kids adore your Monster books!

    • Lol, Paul! Well I’m sure whether it was books or kidneys – they are greatly appreciated. Happy Give Something Away Day!

  6. I went shopping with a friend who highly admired a horseshow shirt but felt it was too expensive. The sales lady said , ” Go home, if you keep thinking about it, then you know it might be something you’d really like.” We left the store. I kept thinking about the shirt, so I went back to the store and bought it for her.
    She was really surprised and it felt so nice to do. I did have to promise her I wouldn’t buy her a gift for the next five
    birthdays!

  7. HI Kim and Darlene,
    I love the message, “Give something away.” A few years back, a fabulous gardener and good friend of mine was sharing some gardening tips with me. “I always make sure to cut some new blooms from my dahlias for my vase and then give some to my neighbors for their homes. This way the plants produce more and bloom longer.” This was natures way of showing the power of giving away. Giving helps all of us, not just the plants, produce more good will and “bloom longer.” Since then, I make sure to give away fresh produce from my garden or fresh blooms from my flowering plants. Whenever I give away, my heart is lighter no matter what is going on around me.

    • Absolutely Sandra. THESE simple acts that everyone has shared with this post are the things that should be “newsworthy? rather than the horrors that bombard our media. Thanks for sharing your gifts.

    • Love this, Sandra! Plus the receivers get the gift of food or lovely flowers AND knowing what a good friend or neighbor they have! Kindness abounds – it may not send the media into a frenzy but the givers and receivers both appreciate how precious it is.

  8. I teach fifth grade. There are four fifth grade teachers at our school. Next year I’ll be the only returning fifth grade teacher as two are new to the district and one is moving from fourth to fifth. I organized all my computer resource files and am give each of my new teammates a flash drive filled with teaching resources to help them get started. I’m also giving them chocolate, because everyone needs chocolate. 🙂

    • I saw the FB post with your welcome bag of “goodies”. What a wonderful gesture for a fellow teacher! Teachers are special people who give so much each day for little or no recognition. Teacher = Sharing!

    • This is awesome, Darlene Andre! Resources take time to build and to get something so ready to go is a treasure. And I agree everyone needs chocolate!

  9. This is a tough one. Does taking an old friend out to dinner count? Or critiquing a manuscript on the cheaper side? Kim, in light of the horrible, horrible events yesterday, your post couldn’t be more timely and needed. I hope everyone shares a little bit of kindness and spreads it like cream cheese frosting on carrot cake. Yum! Carrot cake! xoxo

    • Indeed it does, Robin. You gave time and love – that is immeasurable. And I agree with Darlene – what I love about all your giveaways are the extra smiles everyone gives to go with them!

  10. Wow, if not for this post, ladies, I would NOT have known there was a National Give Away Something Day 🙂 I just love the sound of it! I’m thinking we all in this little group here give of our time and many other things on a regular basis 😀 Many things come to mind, but one of the most recent things I’m giving more of is my volunteer time to Chess.com. For years I’ve been integral with Chess TV, all volunteer work, including designing their logos. I recently gave the logos a “makeover” now that I know how to use Photoshop a bit. I’ve also decided, just this past week, to become a “full site” moderator (I already moderate chats during the TV shows and our Chess.com/TV Group of which I’m a founder and Super Admin). In becoming full site mod I’ll probably spend most of that time (2 hours or more per week) in the Help & Support arena. And just as an aside, I’m very proud of what Chess.com and my friends there (especially IM Danny Rensch) are doing with Chesskid.com because they are bringing chess into a LOT of schools which is of great benefit to children 😀

    Yay for a GREAT post AND for GIVING! 😀 oxox

  11. Very nice post! Here’s my, somewhat weird, response:
    A friend of mine is recently divorced and what she needed most in the world was confidence–confidence to enter a new chapter in her life, confidence to love again, and to even travel to adventurous places alone. After a really long pep talk over several glasses of wine, I let her have it — a chunk of my confidence, that is. I’m sure she’ll put it to good use.
    ; )

  12. Kim I love it great idea I gave away a lot of clothes I couldnt use any more and also made dinner for a neighbor

Leave a Reply

