WHO’S WRITING THIS STORY?! by Robin Newman

When my twin sister and I were in grade school, my twin was always (and I mean ALWAYS) cast in the better roles. One year she played Snow White. I was the wicked queen. The next year, she played Cinderella. Wanna guess who I played? Yup! The wicked step-mother. I suppose some might see a theme emerging from all of this. One might even get a complex. Or, one might see opportunity. Opportunity to be the best wicked queen and step-mother there is. Playing the antagonist gave me the opportunity to reflect on a character’s range. After all, no character is all good or bad.

maxresdefault

So dear readers, you won’t be surprised to learn that I’ve always had a soft spot for meta stories and fractured fairy tales. I love turning stories inside and out. And in my latest book, WHO’S WRITING THIS STORY?!, illustrated by the incredible Deborah Zemke (Creston Books), the Three Little Pigs and the Big Bad Wolf are unhappy with a writer’s retelling of their story. After all, who knows the story best? The characters or the writer? And of course, if the characters are going to tell the writer where the story is going, they’re naturally going to share their thoughts on everything—from the setting and plot, to the conflict and story’s resolution. Would you expect anything less?

who's writing this book cover

WHO’S WRITING THIS STORY?! hits bookshelves on May 7th and is currently available for pre-order from Books of Wonder. If you order from Books of Wonder, you will receive a lovely personalized copy and some super cool swag.

https://booksofwonder.com/products/9781954354296

Robin is giving away a signed copy of this fun fractured tale to one lucky reader of this blog. To enter, leave a comment. One name will be drawn at random and announced later this month. USA only please.

About Robin:

RNewman

Raised in New York and Paris, Robin Newman was a practicing attorney and legal editor, but she now prefers to write about witches, mice, pigs, bears, and peacocks. Author of the award-winning Wilcox & Griswold Mystery Series, she’s a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators, National Writing Project’s Writers Council, Bank Street Writers Lab, and PEN America, CYAB. Robin lives in New York, with her husband, son, and two spoiled spaniels. To learn more, please visit www.robinnewmanbooks.com.

You can also find Robin on:

X: @robinnewmanbook
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/RobinNewmanBooks/339179099505049

Instagram: @robinnewmanbooks

https://youtu.be/2kXww-tGQSo

14 thoughts on “WHO’S WRITING THIS STORY?! by Robin Newman

  1. I’m a huge fan of these kinds of picture books and have tried writing them myself so this book will not only be fun to read but also make great mentor text for me.

  2. Congratulations, Robin! Hope you are feeling better (I had covid in March for the first time –bah humbug!)

  3. I’m not sure if I already commented on this before, I was traveling and sometimes I read things on my phone but the comments don’t go through because I’m not in Wifi. I laughed in sympathy at your description of you and your twin sister, because I know all too well how one sister seems to get the cherry on top of the sundae and one gets the not-so-great remains at the bottom of the container. This book looks amazing. Thanks for sharing, Darlene.

    Congratulations, Robin on what looks to be an instant classic!

Leave a comment